Today I got a blue badge which will make life a lot easier. Now I can park nearer the shops, and will not have to get my eldest son to go out with me so that I can use his. I had been told to apply for it I had not expected to get it. So there were mixed emotions when it arrived. I was pleased as I know it will help, but then again I was a bit sad because it confirms that my walking is not that good these days.
Anyway I went out shopping today and used my badge to park. We did not do much, went to the bank then went to a couple of shops and finally to Sainsburys to get food. By the time I was going around the shop I needed the shopping trolley to hold on to and my legs were dragging and hurting.
By the time I got home it was so difficult to get out of the car as I was in so much pain.
These are the days when I have to face up to how difficult things that others take for granted have become for me. When I have a quiet day at home I can almost convince myself that I am not really that bad. But then I go out to do a small amount of shopping and it hits home how difficult things are.
On Monday I have a hospital appointment in London. Cannot imagine that I will manage to do anything other than go to the appointment and come home. We will see.
My husband turned the cushion over on the sofa today and it has helped me. The cushion was not flat and I was sitting at an angle. I hoped that by turning it, it will make the pain better.
The weather is turning colder now. We had to turn the heating on although it is a worry with fuel bills being so high.
When you are not so mobile you need to keep the heating up. Also arthritis pain is not helped by being cold. But what can you do when you are on a limited income? You either risk problems when the next bill comes or you have to suffer. When you get to the stage of wearing a t-shirt, a roll neck jumper and a cardigan and are still needing to wrap up in a blanket it is time to put on the heating.