Today our eldest son awoke with bad pain in his stomach. It was just where the appendix is, but of course you tell yourself that it cannot be that and that he over did the pizza lunch yesterday. We took him to the GP and he examined Rob and said appendicitis you need to go to the local hospital. We asked for help with transport, because although I had driven him to the gp the hospital is at least 20 mins and Rob had suffered in the car just getting the two minutes to our gp surgery.

My husband went in the ambulance with Robert and I took the car, went home and changed and picked up a couple of books. On the way to the hospital I stopped to get petrol and sandwiches/drink. I have not driven further than a couple of miles now for months. So to drive the 8 miles alone to the hospital was daunting. Also the journey meant a very busy roundabout where two A roads cross, and then the ring road around a busy large town centre. I managed it of course, although I did wonder at one stage if I should stop because I was hurting and also feeling so tired.

Not only did I make it but I got there about the same time as the ambulance.

Robert spent about 4 hours in A&E. they did blood tests, BP, urine and an x-ray. Finally sending him up to the ward. That is where he still is 7 hours later and it looks as if the surgery will not happen overnight.

I do not know how I managed to drive there, stay at the hospital for 7 hours and then drive home, that was in the dark, but I did have my husband with me. Funny how things look so different in the dark and how cars seem so much closer when it is dark.

This evening I have had a long hot bath and my back is hurting really badly now. But I know no matter what I will be going back to the hospital tomorrow, as despite the fact that he is 24 our son has had a lot of time in hospital and we have always been there with him. But now he is a man he has to cope, and so do I.

The biggest problem I have now is that it is after midnight and I am shattered but I cannot sleep, mainly because I hurt.