It has been a busy week, not what I expected when I looked at my diary.

Monday I went with my husband to an ENT clinic. He has always had a problem with snoring, but recently it got so bad I made him go to the doctors partly for him and partly because I am not getting enough sleep. The noise is amazing, I am sure that if I got a thing to measure the decibel levels he would break noise regulations.

The end result is that he appears to have both apnoea and insomnia. He is going to get a sleep study done and then if that gives the results that they think it will he will get a mask thing to keep his airway open.

After  that we went shopping as I needed an outfit for a wedding on Saturday. I found a lovely jacket. It is very bright but with white linen trousers and a camisole it will look lovely. I also will be able to wear it with jeans. So it will get a lot of use. AND it was a bargain!!! It was reduced from £35 to £17.50. I am so pleased with it.

By the time I got home I was worn out. It is just so frustrating how little I can do before I am tired and in pain.

Tuesday I went to the doctors for my INR test. It was 3.4 which is in my target range of 2.5 – 3.5 so no change was needed to how much warfarin I take. I will have to go back next week to see if it is staying level. We talked about me having to buy a machine but if I can get it tested at any time the surgery is open maybe we do not need to buy one for home. After all it is nearly £400 and although my parents have said they would pay for it, it is still a lot of money to spend. It is not available on the NHS. There are studies being done to see if the home testing is worth doing. I am involved in the study as one of those without a machine of my own. The questionnaire I have needs to be done over three months. Then they will have some machines to lend out to see how people cope with home testing. I am on the list to borrow a machine as part of this. So now that I have a local place to get tested I can wait and see what the study shows.

I also had a phone interview from the carers team. I am a carer for our 25 year old son. He manages a lot for himself but cannot do basic things like cooking and cleaning. So officially I am his carer. Although in practice as a family we all help each other. There are resources to give carers a break and I was surprised when I was told that I could get a free gym membership. There is a local gym that has a swimming pool so if I could afford to join it would help my mobility and joints to be able to swim. Trouble is that it is expensive to join and I cannot justify the cost. So I have to wait and see if they can do something to help me.

Yesterday I got my hair cut. I go as a model, as do others in the family. It means I can afford to go every two months, but it also means that the students have someone they can learn on. It takes up to two hours, but then again it is only £7 so you don’t mind. The young man who was doing my hair yesterday finished and I was thinking that whilst it looked neat I did not like it. But fortunately the owner/trainer told him that whilst it was technically probably the best hair cut he had ever done it did not suit me. Ian then proceeded to show him what he should have done for my face shape. So the hairdresser student then finished it off. The second time it looked lovely. He was smiling and Ian told him that this was how you should feel after you have done a haircut.

Last night I was so tired that I feel asleep in front of the TV. I asked my daughter for a cup of tea, but she waited until I was awake before making it. Sensible girl realised that it would just end up going cold.

Today I have nothing planned. But then again the store cupboard is getting low and also I need a top to go under my jacket for the wedding. So I might go into the town. It is only a mile there, so I end up going more than I would if it was a long way.

Also I know which shops I need and can park so that I do the least amount of walking.